Updated for 2026

Cash Advance Apps That Actually Work

Direct apps. Clear information. No lead-form maze.

Looking for a small cash advance shouldn't mean giving your phone number to a website that sends your information everywhere. We compare real apps, their requirements, costs, funding options, and limitations so you can go directly to the provider that fits your situation.

No loan-request form. We don't sell your information to lenders.

  • Real Apps
  • Direct Provider Links
  • Fees Explained
  • No Lead-Form Maze

Compare Cash Advance Apps

Twelve cash advance and earned wage access apps, side by side. They differ on eligibility, costs, limits, and how fast the money shows up, so compare the basics before choosing. Need more than a few hundred dollars? Personal loans are compared separately.

Last reviewed: September 2026

Figures come from each provider's own website. Amounts are maximums or ranges; most people are offered less at first.
App Type Potential amount Monthly fee / cost Credit check Funding speed Learn more
MoneyLion Instacash Cash advance Up to $500; up to $1,000 with qualifying direct deposits to MoneyLion No monthly fee; optional tips None Free: 1–5 business days. Turbo (minutes): $0.49–$8.99 View Details
Chime MyPay Cash advance (line of credit; Chime members) Up to $500; usually starts at $40–$100 No monthly fee None Free: within 24 hours. Instant: 3% ($2–$5) View Details
Current Cash advance (Paycheck Advance) Up to $750 No mandatory fees None Free: within 3 business days. Instant: fee shown in app View Details
Brigit Cash advance $25–$500 (Maine: $25–$250) $8.99–$15.99/month None Free: same or next business day. Express: fee on Plus, included on Premium View Details
Dave Cash advance (overdraft-based) $25–$500 Up to $5/month, plus a fee per ExtraCash (greater of $5 or 5%) None Seconds to Dave Checking; up to 3 business days to another bank View Details
Tilt (formerly Empower) Cash advance $10–$500 $8/month after 14-day trial None to qualify Free: about 1 business day. Instant: $1–$8 or 3% View Details
Klover Cash advance Up to $750 (average about $170) Optional Klover+ $4.99/month None Free: 1–3 business days. Instant: $1.49–$19.99 View Details
Albert Cash advance (Albert Instant) $25–$1,000; few qualify for $1,000 Subscription not required; per-advance fees may apply Not stated on Albert's public pages Varies — see Albert's current terms View Details
Grant Cash advance $25–$500 (top amounts for repeat users) Optional Grant Plus $9.99/month None Free: 1–3 business days. Same day: $2–$21 View Details
Cleo Cash advance $20–$250 ($20–$100 for first-timers) Plans from $1.99/month None Free: 3–4 days. Same day: $4.49–$14.99 View Details
FloatMe Cash advance Up to $200; first advance $10–$50 $6.99/month membership None Free: 1–3 business days. Instant: $1–$7 View Details

The apps, one by one

Same format for every app: what it is, what it costs, and what to watch for. Same order as the table.

EarnIn

Earned Wage Access

Get part of the pay you've already earned before payday; it's repaid automatically from your paycheck.

Potential amount
Up to $150/day and $1,000 per pay period
Cost
No mandatory fees or interest. Optional tips. Lightning Speed from $3.99.
Credit check
None
Funding
Free in 1–3 business days, or minutes for a fee
Requirements
Regular pay schedule, $320+ per pay period, linked bank account

What we like

  • No subscription required.
  • Free standard transfers.

What to know

  • Needs predictable, verifiable pay.
  • Your next paycheck is reduced by what you accessed.

Good fit if: you have a steady paycheck and want to avoid a monthly subscription.

Visit EarnIn

MoneyLion Instacash

Cash Advance

MoneyLion's Instacash advances money based on your checking account activity. You don't need to move your direct deposit to MoneyLion to use it.

Potential amount
Up to $500. MoneyLion says a paid membership can raise it up to $700, and direct deposits into a MoneyLion account up to $1,000.
Cost
No monthly fee and no interest. Optional tips. Optional Turbo delivery: $0.49–$8.99, depending on amount and where it's sent.
Credit check
None.
Funding
Free: 1–2 business days to a MoneyLion account, or 2–5 business days to an outside bank. Turbo arrives in minutes.
Requirements
A checking account open at least two months, with regular income deposits, a positive balance, and regular use. ID verification required.

What we like

  • Direct deposit to MoneyLion isn't required for the base amount.
  • No mandatory monthly fee.

What to know

  • Free delivery to an outside bank can take up to 5 business days.
  • The higher limits depend on paying for membership or moving your direct deposit.
  • Repayment is taken automatically on the date set by your pay cycle.

Good fit if: your paycheck doesn't go to a single account you can switch, or you'd rather not change where you're paid.

Visit MoneyLion

Chime MyPay

Cash Advance

MyPay lets Chime members draw part of their pay early. It's a small line of credit, and it's only for people who already bank with Chime.

Potential amount
Up to $500. Chime says limits usually start between $40 and $100 and can grow over time.
Cost
No interest or monthly fee. Instant transfer: 3% of the advance ($2 minimum, $5 maximum).
Credit check
None.
Funding
Free within 24 hours, or instant for the fee.
Requirements
A Chime account with an activated physical Chime card, plus qualifying direct deposits of $200 or more. Only available in certain states.

What we like

  • Free option arrives within a day.
  • The instant fee is capped at $5.

What to know

  • You have to bank with Chime and have your pay deposited there.
  • Starting limits are low.
  • Not available in every state. The line of credit is provided by The Bancorp Bank or Stride Bank.

Good fit if: you already get paid into a Chime account.

Visit Chime

Current

Cash Advance

Current's Paycheck Advance lets you spot yourself part of your next paycheck, as long as that paycheck goes into a Current account.

Potential amount
Up to $750.
Cost
No mandatory fees. Optional instant access fee; Current shows the amount in the app before you request.
Credit check
None. Current says it doesn't report advances or repayments.
Funding
Free within 3 business days, or instant for the fee.
Requirements
Eligible payroll deposits into your Current account. Offered by Finco Advance LLC, a financial technology company, not a bank.

What we like

  • Higher ceiling than most apps here.
  • No mandatory fees.

What to know

  • You have to route your paycheck to Current.
  • The instant fee amount isn't published on Current's advance page; you see it in the app.
  • Repayment is taken automatically from your next payroll deposit.

Good fit if: you're willing to move your direct deposit to Current.

Visit Current

Brigit

Cash Advance

Brigit's Instant Cash is a subscription-based advance, bundled with budgeting and credit tools.

Potential amount
$25–$500 ($25–$250 in Maine). Brigit reports an average advance of $73.
Cost
Paid plan required for Instant Cash: $8.99/month (Plus) or $15.99/month (Premium). Express delivery costs extra on Plus and is included on Premium.
Credit check
None.
Funding
Free standard delivery: same day if requested before 10 AM ET on a business day, otherwise the next business day. Express usually within 20 minutes.
Requirements
A bank account with at least 60 days of activity, a balance above $0, and three recurring deposits from the same source. Not available in all states.

What we like

  • Free repayment extensions, no late fees.
  • Fast free delivery if you request early on a business day.

What to know

  • The subscription costs $8.99–$15.99 every month, whether or not you take an advance.
  • The average advance is small.

Good fit if: you'd also use the budgeting and credit features, so the subscription isn't only paying for advances.

Visit Brigit

Dave

Cash Advance

Dave's "ExtraCash" is an overdraft-style advance tied to a Dave account, with no interest and no credit check.

Potential amount
$25–$500. Dave says few members qualify for $500.
Cost
Up to $5/month membership, plus an ExtraCash fee equal to the greater of $5 or 5%. Optional 1.5% fee for transfers to an external debit card.
Credit check
None.
Funding
Seconds to Dave Checking; within 1 hour to an external debit card (fee); up to 3 business days to an external bank with no express fee.
Requirements
You must open an ExtraCash account and a Dave Checking account. Eligibility is based on your bank activity.

What we like

  • No interest or late fees.
  • Fast, fee-free delivery if you use Dave Checking.

What to know

  • The minimum $5 fee per ExtraCash makes small amounts relatively expensive.
  • You'll need to open Dave accounts.
  • ExtraCash is repayable on demand, on a settlement date you agree to.

Good fit if: you're comfortable banking with Dave and want the fastest free delivery option.

Visit Dave

Tilt (formerly Empower)

Cash Advance

Tilt, formerly called Empower, offers cash advances based on your bank activity, repaid automatically on your next payday. Same company, new name.

Potential amount
$10–$500. Tilt reports the average first-time offer was $98 in Q2 2026.
Cost
$8/month subscription after a 14-day trial. No interest or late fees. Optional instant delivery: $1–$8, or 3% for advances of $300 or more.
Credit check
No credit check to qualify.
Funding
Free standard delivery, usually 1 business day. Instant delivery in minutes for a fee.
Requirements
Linked bank account; Tilt reviews your income and spending. Not available in Connecticut, Maine, or Washington, D.C.

What we like

  • No interest or late fees.
  • Tilt says an unpaid advance won't go to collections or show on credit reports.

What to know

  • The $8 monthly fee is a real cost, especially on a small advance.
  • You can't get another advance until the last one is repaid.
  • Not available in CT, ME, or DC.

Good fit if: you expect to use advances regularly enough that a monthly subscription makes sense.

Visit Tilt

Klover

Cash Advance

Klover advances part of your upcoming paycheck based on your direct deposit history, repaid automatically on payday.

Potential amount
Up to $750. Klover says the average is around $170.
Cost
No interest or late fees. Optional Klover+ subscription: $4.99/month. Optional instant transfer: $1.49–$19.99 depending on amount.
Credit check
None, and no minimum credit score.
Funding
Free standard transfer, typically 1–3 business days; instant for a fee.
Requirements
Linked bank account with consistent direct deposits. New employees need three consistent deposits from their employer.

What we like

  • Subscription isn't required for an advance.
  • Klover says it won't send unpaid balances to collections or report them to credit bureaus.

What to know

  • Direct deposit history is required.
  • Instant transfer fees go up to $19.99.
  • Larger amounts can involve earning "points," such as by watching ads or taking surveys.

Good fit if: you get regular direct deposits and want to avoid a required monthly fee.

Visit Klover

Albert

Cash Advance

Albert's "Instant" advance is offered inside the Albert money app, at Albert's discretion.

Potential amount
$25–$1,000. Albert says not everyone qualifies and few qualify for $1,000.
Cost
No interest or late fees. An Albert subscription is not required for Instant advances. Albert's help center says fees may apply each time you advance; check the app for the amount.
Credit check
Not stated on the Albert pages we could access. See Albert's current terms.
Funding
Varies — see Albert's current terms.
Requirements
Eligibility is set by Albert; details are in the app and Albert's Terms of Use.

What we like

  • Highest advertised ceiling in this group, for those who qualify.
  • No subscription required for the advance.

What to know

  • Albert says few people qualify for the top amount.
  • Per-advance fees aren't listed on its public pages; you'll see them in the app.
  • Other sites quote different limits and fees. We only list what Albert publishes.

Good fit if: you want to check whether you qualify for a higher limit and are fine reading the fee terms in the app first.

Visit Albert

Grant

Cash Advance

Grant Cash Advance (run by Grant Money LLC) offers small advances repaid on your next expected paycheck or deposit date.

Potential amount
$25–$500. The higher amounts are for repeat users.
Cost
No interest or late fees. Optional Grant Plus subscription: $9.99/month. Optional Express Delivery: $2–$21 depending on amount.
Credit check
None.
Funding
Free standard delivery in 1–3 business days, or same day with Express Delivery.
Requirements
A supported bank account plus eligibility and verification checks.
Not available in
Connecticut, Maryland, Nevada, South Carolina, and Wisconsin (Grant says its full service isn't offered there).

What we like

  • No required subscription.
  • Free standard delivery.

What to know

  • Express fees can reach $21.
  • First-time amounts are typically lower than $500.
  • Not fully available in five states.

Good fit if: you need a small amount, can wait for standard delivery, and don't want a subscription.

Visit Grant

Cleo

Cash Advance

Cleo is an AI budgeting app that offers small cash advances through its paid plans.

Regulatory note: In March 2025, Cleo AI agreed to pay $17 million to settle FTC allegations that it misled consumers about how much money they could get and how fast, and made its subscription hard to cancel. See the FTC case page.

Potential amount
$20–$250. First-time users: $20–$100.
Cost
No interest. Cleo's terms list Plus plans from $1.99 to $5.99/month and Builder plans from $10.99 to $14.99/month. Optional same-day fee: $4.49–$14.99.
Credit check
None.
Funding
Free standard delivery in 3–4 days, or same day for the fee.
Requirements
A linked bank account Cleo uses to check eligibility. Cleo says direct deposit isn't required.

What we like

  • No direct deposit requirement.
  • Cleo's terms say you can ask for an advance without a subscription by emailing its support team.

What to know

  • First-time amounts are small.
  • Free delivery is slower than most apps here.
  • See the FTC note above.

Good fit if: you don't have steady direct deposits and only need a small amount.

Visit Cleo

FloatMe

Cash Advance

FloatMe offers small advances it calls "Floats," repaid on your next payday, with a flat monthly membership.

Potential amount
Up to $200. First-time approvals are $10–$50; FloatMe reports an average Float of $53.
Cost
$6.99/month membership. No interest or late fees. Optional instant delivery: $1–$7.
Credit check
None, and Floats aren't reported to the major credit bureaus.
Funding
Free standard transfer, generally 1–3 business days. Instant usually within 8 hours.
Requirements
A FloatMe account and linked bank account. Not available in Connecticut, Nevada, or Washington, D.C.

What we like

  • Simple flat membership price.
  • No credit reporting.

What to know

  • $6.99 a month is a lot relative to a $10–$50 first advance.
  • "Instant" can still take hours.
  • Not available in CT, NV, or DC.

Good fit if: you only need a small cushion and plan to use it more than once.

Visit FloatMe

Why We Built This

Searching for a small amount of money online can get messy fast. Some websites aren't the lender or the app. They're lead forms that may pass your information to other companies.

We wanted something simpler.

This site compares real financial apps and providers, explains the basics in plain English, and links you directly to the provider.

No mystery form. No pretending every product works for everyone. Just the information you need to compare your options.

Small personal loans · A different product

Need More Than a Few Hundred Dollars?

Cash advance apps usually top out at a few hundred dollars. If you need more, or more time to pay it back, a small personal loan is a different kind of product. Loans charge interest (shown as APR), have fixed repayment schedules, and some check your credit. Compare the cost carefully before you borrow.

Last reviewed: September 2026

Personal loans only. Figures come from each lender's own website. APR is the yearly cost of borrowing, including fees.
Lender Loan amount APR range Term Credit check Funding Learn more
Possible Up to $500 (varies by state) About 137%–249%, by state 8 weeks (4 payments) No FICO check; payments reported to bureaus Seconds to debit card; ACH 1–2 business days View Details
Oportun $300–$10,000 Up to 35.99% Months to years; varies by loan Soft to prequalify; credit reports pulled at application Direct deposit after approval; timing varies View Details

Possible

Personal Loan
APR About 137%–249% From Possible's sample payment schedules (136.60%–248.67%, depending on state), for a 56-day loan. Cost: $15–$25 per $100 borrowed in most states.

Possible Finance makes small installment loans repaid in four payments over 8 weeks.

Loan amount
Up to $500, varies by state.
Term
4 installments over 8 weeks. Each payment can be moved up to 29 days with no rescheduling fee.
Credit check
No FICO check. Loan payments are reported to credit bureaus.
Funding
Typically seconds to a debit card; ACH takes 1–2 business days.
Requirements
A linked bank account showing consistent paycheck deposits. Available in a limited list of states.
Also offered
Possible Advance, a separate no-interest advance: $10–$150 without a membership, or $50–$300 with a $15/month membership. Possible says first advances average $85.

What we like

  • Repayment is split into four payments instead of one lump sum.
  • No late or rescheduling fees.

What to know

  • The APR is high. A short loan still costs $15–$25 for every $100.
  • Because payments are reported to credit bureaus, how you repay can show up on your credit reports.
  • Not available in every state.

Good fit if: you need to spread repayment over a few paychecks and you've compared the cost with a cash advance.

Visit Possible

Oportun

Personal Loan
APR Up to 35.99% Plus an administrative fee of up to 10% of the loan amount.

Oportun offers larger personal installment loans with fixed payments, including for people without an established credit history.

Loan amount
$300–$10,000 for unsecured loans. Oportun says typical new-customer amounts are lower.
Term
Fixed payments over months to years, depending on the loan. Oportun's published examples use 30- and 39-month terms.
Credit check
Prequalifying won't affect your FICO score. Credit reports are requested when you formally apply, which can affect your score.
Funding
By direct deposit after approval. Timing varies.
Requirements
Government ID, proof of address, and proof of income. Available in about 40 states.

What we like

  • APR capped below 36%.
  • Prior credit history isn't required.
  • Fixed payments over months, not one lump sum.

What to know

  • This is a loan with a formal application, not a quick small advance.
  • The administrative fee of up to 10% adds to the cost.
  • Not available in every state.

Good fit if: you need more than an advance can offer and want a set repayment schedule.

Visit Oportun

How We Compare Apps

For this version of the site, every fact comes from the provider's own public website, pricing page, help center, or terms. We record where each figure came from and when we checked it. When a provider doesn't publish something, we say so instead of filling the gap with a number from somewhere else. We look at:

  • Product type
  • Potential advance or loan amount
  • Eligibility requirements
  • Membership or subscription fees
  • Optional transfer fees and tips
  • Credit-check requirements
  • Funding speed
  • Repayment structure
  • Availability by state
  • User experience
  • Significant restrictions
  • Public regulatory actions

We separate earned wage access and cash advances from personal loans because they work differently and cost differently. A loan with an APR isn't the same as a no-interest advance, so loans get their own section with the APR shown up front.

Provider terms change often. We re-check the information regularly. If something here doesn't match what a provider shows you, the provider's current terms are what apply.

Last reviewed: September 2026

How This Site Makes Money

Some links on this site may be affiliate links. When a link is an affiliate link, we may receive compensation if you click it and complete a qualifying action with the provider. This does not necessarily increase your cost.

Compensation may affect where a sponsored or featured partner appears, and those placements are labeled. We include useful products whether or not they pay us, and compensation doesn't change the facts we report about fees, limits, or requirements.

Every affiliate link is marked right next to the button. Links without that note are plain links to the provider's website. Read the full affiliate disclosure.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are these direct cash advance apps?

Every link on this site goes directly to the provider's own website, but the products aren't all the same:

  • Earned wage access: EarnIn.
  • Cash advances: MoneyLion, Chime MyPay, Current, Brigit, Dave, Tilt, Klover, Albert, Grant, Cleo, and FloatMe.
  • Personal installment loans: Possible and Oportun, listed in a separate section because they cost and work differently.
What's the difference between a cash advance app and a personal loan?

Cash advance and earned wage access apps give small amounts, usually under $1,000, based on your paycheck or bank history. Instead of interest, they typically make money from subscriptions, optional fees for faster transfers, or tips, and you usually repay on your next payday.

Personal loans are larger, charge interest shown as an APR, have set repayment schedules over weeks, months, or years, and may involve a credit check.

Neither is right for everyone. Compare cash advance apps or compare personal loans.

Does using these apps affect my credit?

It depends on the product:

  • Most of the cash advance apps listed here say they don't run a credit check for their advances. Albert's public pages we could access didn't address this, so check its terms.
  • Possible doesn't check FICO scores for its loan, but reports loan payments to credit bureaus.
  • Oportun uses a soft inquiry to prequalify and requests credit reports when you formally apply.

Check each provider's current terms before applying.

Do cash advance apps charge interest?

Most cash advance and earned wage access apps say they charge no interest, but that doesn't mean they're free. Costs can include monthly subscriptions, fees for faster transfers, per-advance fees, and optional tips. Personal loans, like those from Possible and Oportun, do charge interest or finance charges, shown as an APR.

How quickly can I receive money?

Timing varies by provider, your bank, your eligibility, the transfer option you choose, and weekends or holidays. Free standard transfers commonly take one to three business days, and some take longer. Faster transfers often arrive within minutes but usually cost an extra fee. Loans fund after approval, and timing varies by lender.

Does everyone qualify?

No. Each provider sets its own eligibility rules, and most people are offered less than the advertised maximum at first. Common requirements include regular income, deposits into a linked bank account (sometimes into the provider's own account), and living in a state where the product is offered.

Does this website lend money?

No. Short Til Friday is not a lender and does not make credit decisions. It provides information and links you to third-party providers, who make all eligibility and pricing decisions.

Do you sell my information?

No. This site has no loan-request form and does not collect or sell loan requests to lenders. When you click to a provider, you apply directly with that company under its own privacy policy. See our Privacy Policy for how analytics and cookies are handled.